• Banner 1

    Club History

Learn More About Our Golf Club

Established in 1924, Sodus Bay Heights is a club with a rich golf history. While still a teenager, Robert Trent Jones began his legendary career by serving as the first golf professional at Sodus Bay Heights Golf Club. Contrary to popular belief, Mr. Jones did not design the golf course at Sodus Bay Heights. To this day the original architect remains unknown.

Sodus Bay Heights began as a nine hole golf course with a clubhouse, a separate pro shop and a small caddy building. In 1953, an addition to the clubhouse was planned and constructed by Jim and Al Santelli. Today this addition is the Robert Trent Jones grill room. On July 1st, 1972, a new clubhouse was opened. It included a beautiful banquet room with panoramic windows offering sweeping views of Sodus Bay. The pro shop was incorporated into the new building, eliminating the need for the caddy house. A patio was added just outside the grillroom in 1980.

In 1966, Claude Wright Sr. formed a committee to begin planning the expansion of the golf course to eighteen holes. Geoffrey S. Cornish, a golf course architect from Amherst, Massachusetts, was retained to redesign the existing course and layout an additional nine holes on the west side of Route 14. On May 25, 1969, the new 18 hole golf course was dedicated. A memorial stone commemorating the day was placed next to the flagpole.

Superintendent History

Ivan Clark 1924 - 1936
Warner Featherly 1937-1974
Kenneth Campbell 1975
Tom Charnock 1975 - 1978
Paul Christ 1978 - 1984
Stephen Boone 1984 - 2017
Todd Vankouwenberg 2018 - 2022
Martin Ward 2022 - Present

PGA Professional History

Our First Golf Professional - Robert Trent Jones Sr. 1930 - 1935
Scoop Haubner 1935 - 1939
Douglas Cousins 1939 - 1942, 1947
Byron Proesus 1948
Douglas Cousins 1949 - 1951
Leland Boice 1952 - 1977
Dennis Mead 1978 - 1979
Paul M. Carter 1980 - 2006
David B. Jones 2007 - 2015
Ben Wilson 2016 - 2019
Andrew Smith - 2019 - PRESENT

Board of Directors

Mr. Ted Hagberg - President
Ms. Trish Minty - Vice President/Treasurer
Ms. Stephanie Johnson - Secretary
Mr. Nicholas Rawden
Mr. Bob Schlegel
Mr. Jim Vitale
Mr. Noah Johnson
Ms. Julie Hamm
Ms. Crissy Betlem
Mr. Matt Albertazzi